

TOWN of SABATTUS

190 Middle Road • Sabattus, Maine 04280 Phone: (207) 375-4331 • Fax: (207) 375-4104

Selectmen's Meeting Minutes April 2, 2024 Regular Meeting @ 6:30 pm

*The Board of Assessors (another function/responsibility of the Board of Selectmen) may meet before and/or after the regular business meeting of the Selectmen to act in the capacity of Assessors. The Assessors review applications for abatements and supplement tax bills.

Roll Call Board of Selectmen:

Present: Jean-Paul Curran, Chair
Present: Richard Lacombe, Vice Chair
Absent: Mark Duquette, Selectman
Noel Hinkley, Selectwoman

Present: JP Normand LaPlante, Selectman

In Attendance:

Timothy Kane, Town Manager Brenda Letourneau, Town Clerk Erik Baker, Chief of Police Melissa Kelly, Administrative Assistant Magan Brown, Sabattus Police Officer Caleb Fortin, Sabattus Police Officer Robert Dostie, Sabattus Police Officer Jerry Sabins, Transfer Station Manager

Residents

Michelle Ames Jon Mennealy Zac Mitchell

George Merrill Matthew Oak Roger Brault Kevin Burgess

Non-Residents

Tracy Willis, Dirigo Safety Shawn O'Leary, Dirigo Safety Christian Behr

Jim Willis, Dirigo Safety Adam Thacker

I.Agenda Adjustments:

II. Comments from the Floor:

<u>Jon Mennealy</u>: Spoke with Ryan at Scarborough Engineering regarding Greene St. project. Town Manager, Tim Kane was given phone number to follow up. Fundraising at Martins Point – the Selectboard ok'd it last year and was wondering if it could be done again this year.

<u>George Merrill:</u> Thanked the Selectboard and Town Manager for posting meetings online. Was wondering if a news alert could go out to residents so they can look at them. Remote policy- no instructions on how it will work.

III. Ceremonial Presentations and Recognitions:

A. Sabattus Police Department Accreditation Award: Jim Willis from Dirigo Safety presented Sabattus Police Chief Erik Baker with an award for being the 28th out of 130 Police Department's in the State of Maine to become accreditated.



TOWN of SABATTUS

190 Middle Road • Sabattus, Maine 04280 Phone: (207) 375-4331 • Fax: (207) 375-4104

IV. Public Hearing/Information Meetings	I۷.	Public	Hearing/	Information	Meetings:
---	-----	---------------	----------	-------------	-----------

- V. Unfinished Business:
- VI. New Business:
 - **A. Androscoggin County Mitigation Plan Approval:** Selectman Rick Lacombe made a motion to approve the Androscoggin County Mitigation plan as presented. 2nd by Selectman Norm LaPlante
 - Vote 3-0

- B. Approval of Transfer Station Construction RFP: tabled
- C. Town Office Camera System: tabled
- **D. Approval of Town Meeting:** Selectman Norm LaPlante made a motion to approve the Town Meeting be held on Thursday, May 23, 2024. 2nd by Selectman Rick Lacombe **Vote 3-0**
- E. Approval of Marijuana Ordinance: tabled
- F. Approval of Stormwater Ordinance: tabled
- G. Shoreland Zoning Ordinance: tabled
- H. MUBEC Ordinance: tabledI. Solar Ordinance: tabled
- J. Groundwater Wellhead Protection Ordinance: tabled
- K. Moratorium on Large Scale Solar Battery Systems: tabled
- VII. Approval of Selectmen's Meeting Minutes:
 - **A. Selectboard Meeting Minutes March 19, 2024:** Selectman Rick Lacombe made a motion to approve the March 19, 2024 Selectboard meeting minutes as written and read. 2nd by Norm LaPlante
 - Vote 3-0
- VIII. Comments from the Board: Selectman Norm LaPlante asked the Select Chair Jean-Paul Curran and Town Manager, Timothy Kane have an investigator look into why employees are being attacked and to bring any charges to any/all individuals involved.
- IX. Report from the Town Manager:
- X. Treasurer's Report: Selectman Norm LaPlante made a motion to approve the Treasurer's report as written and read.
 2nd by Selectman Rick Lacombe
 Vote 3-0
- XI. Workshop:
 - A. Employee Conduct with the Social Media Policy: tabled
 - B. Code of Ethics: tabled
- XII. Executive Session:

JP Normand LaPlante, Selectman

(III. Adjourn Selectboard Meeting: Selectman Norm LaPlante made a motion to adjourn tonight's at 7:12 p.m. 2 nd by Selectman Rick Lacombe V		
Jean-Paul Curran, Chair	Richard Lacombe, Vice Chair	
Mark Duquette, Selectman	Noel Hinkley, Selectwoman	