MINUTES & ACTIONS FOR SPECIAL TOWN MEETING TOWN OF SABATTUS September 21, 2021

Town Clerk Brenda Letourneau, opened the meeting at 6:30 and read the following:

State of Maine County of Androscoggin, ss.

To Melissa Kelly, a Constable of the Town of Sabattus, County of Androscoggin, State of Maine

GREETING:

In the name of the State of Maine you are hereby required to notify and warn the voters of the Town of Sabattus, in said county, qualified by law to vote in Town affairs to meet at the Sabattus Municipal Building at 190 Middle Road in said Town, on Tuesday, September 21, 2021 at 6:30 o'clock in the evening, then and there to act on the following articles:

ARTICLE 1. To choose a moderator by written ballot to preside at said meeting.

Action taken on Article 1: Guy Desjardins nominated Mark Duquette as moderator of the Special Town Meeting. Richard Lacombe 2nd the nomination. Ballots were cast. Mark Duquette is elected and sworn in by Brenda Letourneau, Town Clerk.

*Motion was made at 6:38pm by Karen Atwood and 2nd by Shane Duquette to adjourn and move the Special Town Meeting from the Sabattus Municipal Building located at 190 Middle Road and continue at 7:15pm in the Sabattus Middle School, located at 40 Ball Park Road. Vote was taken, all in favor

ARTICLE 2. To see if the Town will authorize the Board of Selectmen to negotiate with Androscoggin County for police coverage for the Town, and to further authorize the Board of Selectmen to enter into a contract with Androscoggin County for police services on terms and conditions that the Board of Selectmen determine to be in the best interests of the Town.

Board of Selectmen Ought to Pass

Action taken on Article 2: Failed

ARTICLE 3 To see if the Town will authorize the Board of Selectmen to disband the Police Department after entering into a contract with Androscoggin County for police services.

Board of Selectmen Ought to Pass

Action taken on Article 3: Failed

ARTICLE 4. To see if the Town will vote to appropriate the sum of \$80,200 from the Town's "Undesignated Fund Balance" for recruitment and retention of employees in the Police Department.

Board of Selectmen Ought to Pass @ \$80,200

Action taken on Article 4: Motion was made by Rob Gayton Jr. and 2nd by Shane Duquette Vote taken, Article 4 passes

ARTICLE 5. To see if the Town will vote to appropriate the sum of \$28,000 from the Town's "Undesignated Fund Balance" for employment of an individual to serve on a full-time basis as Code Enforcement Officer/Building Inspector/Licensed Plumbing Inspector and Health Officer.

Board of Selectmen Ought to Pass @ \$28,000

Action taken on Article 5: Motion was made by Rob Gayton Jr. and 2nd by Tracey Rancourt Vote taken, Article 5 passes

ARTICLE 6. To see if the Town will vote to appropriate the sum of \$40,000 from the Town's "Undesignated Fund Balance" for the replacement of furnaces at the Public Works Department and Crowley Road Fire Station.

Board of Selectmen Ought to Pass @ \$40,000

Action taken on Article 6: Motion was made by Rob Gayton Jr. and 2nd by Jennifer Waterman Vote taken, Article 6 passes

the dedication made by Glen E. Dube of an easement interest in Aiden Drive, and to accept and establish Aiden Drive as a town way. Board of Selectmen Ought to Pass Action taken on Article 7: Motion was made by Rob Gayton Jr. and 2nd by Shane Duquette Vote taken, Article 7 passes ARTICLE 8. To see if the Town, pursuant to 23 M.R.S.A. § 3025, will vote to accept the dedication made by Glen E. Dube of an easement interest in East Ridge Road Extension, and to accept and establish East Ridge Road Extension as a town way. Board of Selectmen Ought to Pass Action taken on Article 8: Motion was made by Rob Gayton Jr. and 2nd by Shane Duquette Vote taken, Article 8 passes *Motion to adjourn at 8:37 pm was made by Guy Desjardins and 2nd by Shane Duquette Mark Duquette, Chair Guy Desjardins, Vice-Chair Jean-Paul Curran, Selectman Richard Lacombe, Selectman

Jeremy Petty, Selectman

ARTICLE 7. To see if the Town, pursuant to 23 M.R.S.A. § 3025, will vote to accept

Timothy Kane Brenda Letourneau Judy Martin **Daniel Davies** Michael Chaine Michael Cote Michael Rioux Troy Cailler Jerry Sabins Eric Samson Melissa Kelly Solange Cote Lisa Davis Christel Designations Tammy Dostie Alec Duquette Sasha Flaherty Austin Gayton Donald Gensure **David Gross** Lawrence Healv Christopher Hyde Clem Kerr Richard Lacombe Jason Lavoie Andrew Lindberg Brian Lunn Nancy Merrill Angela Mitchell Elizabeth Dupre Renee Ormsby Robert Plante Nancy Provost Bryan Reed Candy Roy Molly Sasseville Theresa Sherman **Doris Surette** Diane Thomas Jennifer Waterman Yvonne Winslow

Mark Duquette Jean-Paul Curran **Guy Desjardins** Richard Lacombe Jeremy Petty Jared Blake Jason Boulanger Zachary Campbell Danny Caron Brenda Chicoine **Paul Cloutier** Claudette Curran Sherwood Deemer Ann Marie Dion Timothy Dowling Shane Duquette Linda Fluker Robert Gayton Jr Cory Golob Richard Hanlin Lisanne Heyward Romeo Jordan Alex Kolbe **Donald Lambert** Kersti Lavoie Paul Loesberg **Denis Maillet** Brittany Meserve John Mitchell Jr Benjamin Nadeau Linda Pelletier Richard Pouzol Jennifer Radel Susan Reed Danial Sabine Catherine Scott Carole Spencer Scott Surette Katherine Tirabassi Derrick Webb

Deborah Wood

Amy Duquette **Emily Lundberg** Craig Shaw Michelle Ames Karen Atwood Gerard Bonenfant Jean Paul Bourgoin Linda Cantara James Carter **Daniel Clifford** Dee Cornelison Helene Curran Wendy Deemer Daniel Dion Gerard Dugauy Thomas Edgecomb Terry Fournier Wanda Gayton Richard Gonya Jens Hansen Wayne Heywood David Kenney Diane Labrecque JP Normand Laplante Catherine Levesque Pauline Longchamp Ramona Maillet Cody Meserve Joshua Morin Jeanne Nelson Jody Petty Cody Provost James Rancourt Michael Roberge Sarah Sabine Laurie Scott Pieter Staples Linda Therriault Kelsey Tracy Diane Whalen Donna Woodbury

Ann Abbott Larry Abbott James Albert Jason Arbour Jeffrey Baril Linda Boucher Linda Bourgoin Claire Caron Samantha Carter Laura Clifford Robert Cote Marie Curran Robert Deschaine Karl Dostie Linda Duguay William Fessenden Caleb Frost Craig Gelinas Donna Green Diane Hansen Noel Hinkley Angela Kerr Michael Labrecque Amedeo Lauria Toby Levesque Cassandra Lord Roger Martineau Normand Michaud Michael Morin Michael Noel Richard Pinard **Gregoire Provost** Tracey Rancourt Paula Roberge Michael Sasseville Steven Shaw Kathy Stout Donald Therrien James Waterman **Doris Whittier**